If you find one, send an email saying you’d like to ask about their career path and what it’s like working there.

RECRUITER: I'm a recruiting manager. You typed up your resume and took it to a print shop.
If you’re still in college or grad school, try to get summer internships at places you want to work. The surge of hiring activity in the fall drops off significantly during the holiday season, roughly December through the mid-January. Apply a lot and frequently and apply out of state. Just wanted to say lean on your network, either your personal social network or your college network. Make sure you’re ready when that happens. Welcome!

6 months later I was boarding a plane to Asia for a summer internship in a boutique white collar company. What about you? Maybe you caught wind that your dream company is opening a position that’s right for you. The location I "worked" at closed not long after and I can't find that manager's contact information in my email. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts Lavishing on the buzzwords won’t make you look in-the-know. Maybe they’ve all the qualifications, all the resources, all the knowledge of the industry, but still, they’re stuck because they don’t want to go through the painstaking way of searching for a new job. Opinions expressed by Forbes Contributors are their own. HR people don't necessarily know Thing One about recruiting, even if they are responsible for recruiting for their teams. Career and wellness coach Joanna Echols calls it “should-ing all over ourselves.”, “It starts with an assumption that somebody else knows better what’s right for you and what you should do,” Echols told Business Insider. Via Reddit.